Fitness Decisions: Out of Bed, Into Action

Stunning sunshine on Clapton towpath run
Get out there and feel good!

Half the battle is mental, they say. I would put the figure at more like 75%. On a recent weekend, as I lay in bed I thought: “What would my ‘Best Me’ do right now on a Saturday morning? They’d probably jump out of bed, throw on their trainers and head out for a quick run, clearing last night’s cobwebs and getting energised for the day.”

“Imagine if I could be that person? Can I?” I pictured myself on Hackney Marshes and – in that brief moment – I decided I could and I would. Within 5 minutes I was outside heading to the Clapton towpath and enjoying the quiet that comes with being out before the crowds. It’s a special time that anyone who’s regularly up with the larks will recognise, having the place to yourself.

And what a reward! The sun shone brilliantly, the marshes were as green as ever and I was inspired – though not surprised – to find I wasn’t the only one out.

On the River Lea the rowers from Springfield Marina were setting a cracking pace as other joggers I passed listened to music or immersed themselves in their own private meditation.

Going faster on the return leg of my 20 minute jog, I used a 4-man scull on the water alongside me for pacing. I had to increase my jog to a run because the men & women from Lea Valley Rowing Club can reach 20kph or higher and their own athleticism spurred me on: inspiration and motivation comes from many places. It felt good to stretch out those legs and get a proper sweat on.

There are many things that stop us from achieving our full potential; I could easily have stayed in bed. But that quick decision to ‘Just go!’ enabled me to enjoy a great start to the day, energising my body and mind and setting my creative juices flowing.

While I moved I thought about the direction Hackney Fit might take in 2014 and how I might share these moments with others and encourage them to create their own.

Some of us are at our most creative when we’re moving; those games you might have played on a teambuilding exercise are designed to be physical for a reason.

That morning, I was my own best self: getting fitter, smarter and making myself happier. If I can, you can. We all can. Sometimes all it takes is a quick decision.

Leave a comment